The Silver Lining Awards were designed to recognize individuals, groups and businesses whose volunteer efforts have improved the quality of life in the people of Sanilac County. Nominations are sought from throughout the county from agencies, businesses, and individuals and each year one selection from each category receives the “Silver Lining Crystal Award”.

The 26th Annual Silver Lining Awards

Thursday, September 20, 2018 – 6:00 p.m.
 St. Elizabeth Banquet Hall in Marlette

To recognize and outstanding individual, nominate them online:

Go to the Online Nomination Form

Or print a form: 2018 Nomination Form
Completed forms may be submitted via:
Fax: 810-648-4418
Mail: 47 Austin St. P.O. Box 307, Sandusky, MI 48471
Nominations are due by: August 1, 2018

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact our office at: 810-648-3634

  • Categories for Nomination:
    Youth Individual
    Youth Group
  • Small Town Pride Recognitions:
    Outstanding Citizen
    Outstanding Educator

About Us

The Silver Lining Awards Committee was organized in 1993 by the Sanilac County Community Collaborative to honor the unsung volunteers of this county. In 2016, the Sanilac County Community Foundation became the host for the event. Banks, businesses, and agencies county wide also assist with underwriting this worthy program.

Annually more than 300 requests for nominations of individual volunteers, organizations, and businesses are circulated. To date 1231 honorees have been recognized, and 77 Silver Lining Crystal Awards have been presented.

In 2008, because of the wholesome influence and energies Sanilac County teens are providing throughout the county, the Silver Lining Awards Committee introduced two new categories: Youth Individual Award and Youth Organization Award.

Other awards presented during the Silver Lining Annual Awards include: The Romney Award, created because Governor George Romney, the key not speaker at the first event 20 years ago and a standard bearer for volunteerism, had inspired the Silver Lining Committee to create a Romney Award to be given after five nominations. Later, after the death of prominent county volunteer Stan Fetting (1930 – 2006), a decision was made to award the Stanley R. Fetting Heart of Gold Award after ten nominations.

For Good. For Ever.