June 29, 2015

Becky Taylor, a 2015 graduate of Marlette High School and Krissa Jones, a 2015 graduate of Sandusky High School are this year’s recipients of the Richard M. Coffelt Memorial Scholarship Fund.

COFFELT, Becky TaylorBecky plans to attend Eastern Michigan University in the fall where she will be part of the marching band. Becky graduated from Marlette High School with high honors and a 3.85 GPA. During high school, she participated in track, National Honor Society, quiz bowl and the band programs. Becky is the daughter of David and Carolyn Taylor of Clifford, Michigan. Throughout her senior year, she helped lead the quiz bowl team to finish second place in the Class C/D division at State Quiz Bowl Games, Divisional winner in Quiz Central, and the runner-up of Season 10 of Quiz Central.

Krissa plans to attend Lake Superior State University in the fall to study Pyschology and take part in the concert band and Laker Hockey pep band. She also plans to audition for the fall play and hopefully further her experience as a musician and actress. Krissa graduated from Sandusky High School. She participated in concert, jazz, and marching band. Every fall and spring she took part in the productions put on by the drama department. In her junior and senior year, she was a member of National Honor Society where she volunteered in the school and in the community. Krissa’s senior year she was asked to join the Sandusky English Academic games team.

The Richard M. Coffelt Memorial Scholarship was established in honor of Richard M. Coffelt, Band Director and teacher in the Van Buren Public School system from 1948 to 1972. The scholarship is intended to promote music education and encourage students to pursue a career in music. Money is awarded at least annually for the music education needs of Sanilac County graduating senior.

The scholarship is administered through the Sanilac County Community Foundation (SCCF). For more information on scholarship opportunities through the SCCF, contact Melissa Anderson, Executive Director, at the Foundation office at 810-648-3634.

For Good. For Ever.