September 15, 2023

The Sanilac County Community Foundation is pleased to announce the recipient of the James T. Whitfield Scholarship is Kathalein Hunter, a 2023 graduate of Croswell-Lexington Schools.

Kathalein Hunter, I am 17 years old and I attended Croswell-Lexington High School for the last part of 11th grade and the whole 12th grade year. I am enrolled at SC4 with the plan to get my degree in Radiology. My mothers name is are Rebecca Foley, but I am under the care of my aunt Diamond Durecka at the moment. I didn’t play a role in any high school activities during my stay at Cros-Lex besides a short time period at the Sanilac Career Center and dual enrollment. I am/was apart of the National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS) and I am being nominated for the Congress of Future Medical Leaders Award of Excellence later in this month of June 2023.

The James T. Whitfield scholarship was established through a generous gift from the Whitfield Trust. The purpose of the fund is to provide a scholarship to a deserving graduating senior from Croswell-Lexington Schools who is planning to study engineering.

This scholarship is administered through the Sanilac County Community Foundation. For more information on scholarship opportunities through the Sanilac County Community Foundation, contact Joshua Robinson, Executive Director, at the Foundation office at 810-648-3634.

For Good. For Ever.